New Read: ‘Nothing Like the Sun’, by Anthony Burgess

I’m in the midst of Nothing Like the Sun, Anthony Burgess’s novel about Shakespeare; I’m just starting, but I love it thus far. The novelty of “seeing” a living young Shakespeare is intriguing, but the true value of what I’ve read thus far is the language. Splendid hybrid of “Shakespeare” modern English and 20th century modern English. And the ubiquitous allusions are exhilarating.

I’m hoping the plot doesn’t flop dead as some readers have claimed. Even if it does, Burgess’s fine finagling of the English language here might just be enough to keep me going.

Leave a Reply

